wet ball rule

2 replies [Last post]
ken chan
Offline
Joined: 09/20/2018

what happens :

1) when I serve, my bat was wet and the ball hit the net. Will I lose the point? 

2) during the rally, my bat was wet and I hit the ball to the net. Will lose the point ?

3) during the rally I hit the ball to the net but I found out the ball was wet , will I lose the point ?

james chan

Larry Hodges
Larry Hodges's picture
Offline
Joined: 11/19/2010
Re: wet ball rule

The pertinent rule here is this:

2.9.1 The rally shall be a let:
2.9.1.3 if failure to make a service or a return or otherwise to comply with the Laws is due to a disturbance outside the control of the player;

The key word here is it has to be a disturbance "outside the control of the player." So if you start the rally with a wet racket and lose the point because of it, you cannot call a let on that, and so you do lose the point. This covers the first two cases you wrote above. For the third one, if the ball became wet during the rally, then it is a let. However, it's tricky judging this, and usually is not called a let unless there is a wet mark on the racket. (Serving legally, wet balls, and edge/side calls are the most difficult ones and cause the most arguments.) 

-Larry Hodges

ken chan
Offline
Joined: 09/20/2018
Re: wet ball rule

thank you

james chan